Investment Meeting: Union Minister Meets with Concerned Officials of Shan State

15 May 2021
2021-05-15 09:53

Union Minister for Investment and Foreign Economic Relations, Vice-Chairman of Myanmar Investment Commission U Aung Naing Oo met with the Chairman and members of Shan State Administration Council and Shan State Investment Committee on Friday.

In the meeting at the office of Shan State Administration Council’s meeting room, the Union Minister discussed the investment promotion, facilitation and protection measures that to be undertaken by Shan State Investment Committee in accordance with the Myanmar Investment Laws and Rules and procedures. He encouraged the State Investment Committee to promote the investment by establishing an efficient mechanism for monitoring, facilitating and providing necessary assistance to the existing investments which were permitted by MIC and endorsed by State Investment Committee. The Union Minister shared the information that the Myanmar Investment Commission is formulating the investment policies and strategies in line with the five points Road Map and nine objectives of the State Administration Council and recommended the priority areas of State investment promotion programme particularly in manufacturing, agriculture sector, renewable energy and MSMEs development by designing quick-win projects. The Union Minister discussed the facilitation and streamlining of the investment approval process in accordance with the investment law and rules which is crucial for investment promotion. He called for investment-related government agencies to provide necessary assistance to the investors and to facilitate the local business in the manufacturing and services sectors.

Chairman of Shan State Administration Council and the Chairman of Shan State Investment Committee discussed the investment promotion activities undertaking by Shan Committee and explained the future development programme.

The Union Minister fulfilled the needs of the States Committee and responded to the queries made by committee members.

-- End --