UEC Announcement: Union Election Commission Issues Announcement

13 May 2021
2021-05-13 10:39

Union Election Commission (UEC) issued an announcement on the 12th of May. It stated that regarding the Multiparty General Election held on the 8th of November 2020, the UEC inspected the voters lists and casting of votes in Pakokku, Minbu, Pwintbyu, Ngape, Sidoktaya, Salin and Mindon townships of Magway Region.

The findings showed the differences of voter lists between the previous election commission and the Ministry of Labour, Immigration and Population in November 2020 of these 7 townships. The voter lists also mentioned the numbers of non-identity voters, as well as the voters who repeated on the voter lists more than three times and two times under the same scrutiny card in each township.

The UEC has inspected the withdrawal/receipt/use and remaining of ballot papers used for Pyi Thu Hluttaw Election in these 7 townships together with the respective township election sub-commission, head of police force, Immigration and Population and administrator according to the Hluttaw Election Law Section 53.

According to the ground inspection, a total of 1,214 Poll stations in these 7 townships took out 986,211 ballots and used 670,251. The findings showed that 295,101 ballots were left instead of 315,960. 22,581 ballots were missing while there were 1,722 extra ballots. The extra and shortage ballots and illegal extra ballots were found at respective poll stations.

-- End --